See also the Contacts page

We work with:

The Environment Agency (EA)

The Environment Agency is responsible for managing the risk of flooding from designated ‘Main Rivers’, reservoirs, estuaries and the sea (c.f. the responsibilities of Lead Local Flood Authorities, see Oxfordshire County Council below). The EA in England has other responsibilities, including water quality and resources; fisheries; inland river, estuary and harbour navigations; conservation and ecology. There are head offices in Bristol and London and 14 Area offices in England.

We are in the Thames Area, which stretches from Cirencester following the River Thames to the edge of London, and from Banbury in the north to Guildford in the south. The Thames Area headquarters is in Wallingford. There are additional offices and a depot on Osney Island in Oxford.

We meet the EA’s Thames Area Flood Risk Management Team:
Area Director – Julia Simpson
Area Flood & Coastal Risk Manager – Dave Bedlington
Project Director for the Oxford and Abingdon Schemes – Joanna Larmour
Project Executive for the Oxford and Abingdon Schemes – Richard Harding
Operations Manager – Jo Emberson-Wines
Waterways Manager – Barry Russell
Partnership and Strategic Overview Team Leader, Oxfordshire – James Adams
Supporting Communities Remaining at Risk Programme Manager, National – Peter Collins.

The Oxford and Abingdon Scheme Team is a dedicated project team developing both the Oxford Flood Alleviation Scheme and the Abingdon flood risk management schemes. If you would like to know more about these schemes please contact the team directly. 
Twitter: Follow @OxfordFAS on Twitter

The local Operational teams that carry out river maintenance, and are on the front line when there is a risk of flooding, are based at the Osney depot.

The team responsible for locks, weirs and river navigation in Oxford can be contacted via

Oxfordshire County Council

The County Council is the Lead Local Flood Authority (LLFA).

Lead local flood authorities are responsible for managing the risk of flooding from surface water, groundwater and ordinary watercourses (ordinary here meaning those that are not designated ‘Main Rivers’) and lead on community recovery, including making sandbags available to those that need them.

  • Deputy Leader of the County Council and Cabinet member with responsibility for flooding – Rodney Rose
  • County Drainage Engineer – Gordon Hunt
  • Oxfordshire Strategic Flooding Group Coordinator – Chris Brown.

Oxford City Council

Oxford City Council is the elected local government servicing the city of Oxford. As a district council, Oxford City Council lead in reducing flood risks from development in the floodplain through the planning system and the management of drainage and non-main river watercourses.

  • Executive Director, in charge of the wider flooding picture – Tim Sadler
  • Service Manager, Environmental Sustainability – Jo Colwell
  • Senior Engineer – Steve Smith.

Vale of White Horse District Council

  • Chief Engineer – Peter Dela; involved in the communities in the west Oxford flood plain which are in the Vale.

Thames Water

  • Local and Regional Government Liaison Manager – Huw Thomas
  • Engineer – Mark Taylor; involved with many of the current projects.

Network Rail

  • Robin Basu represents NR on the OAFP.

Oxford Area Flood Partnership (OAFP)

The City Council hosts this multi-agency working group focused on flooding. The group brings together the agencies that have flooding responsibilities, including the Environment Agency, Thames Water, Network Rail, the County Council, the City Council and Vale of White Horse District Council. While not a member of the partnership we attend meetings and contribute our views.

Disclaimer: users of this website should please note the DISCLAIMER and note on insurance advice.